Find your truth

Spider Omens

The poem below “Hitch a Ride” is about my epic encounter with a spider just like this one about a year ago.  First off, this spider was only about the size of a quarter.  He looks bloodthirsty and scary, but they are harmless.  I was bit by one about a month ago and barely noticed.    I found him on my comforter on my bed and he proceeded to disappear under my bed.  After pleading with him for an hour, he finally came out and I held up my end of the bargain and returned him safely outside. I felt like posting this here because there’s a good story to tell.  This guy was found tonight and I also returned him safely outside.

Seeing a spider is an omen of creativity and manifestation.  You should be thankful when one arrives in your space and not just go directly to kill it.  Otherwise, you’re basically inheriting the karma of killing your own creativity and manifestation ability.  Now, what if you inadvertently kill it?  I’ve done it.  Then its just best to thank the spider for letting you take part in it’s transition to its next lifetime.  Just like anything, its all about intention.  If your intention is to kill it for the sake of killing it, well expect to inherit some bad karma that you’ll likely have to work through.  It might not be the most difficult karma to clear but killing anything is going to have consequences in my opinion.  If you’re interested in learning more about animal omens, you’re in luck because I now have a more extensive article titled, Animal Omens.

Here’s the poem I wrote about my epic spider omen:

Hitch a Ride

One minute relaxing inside my home
The next hitch a ride beyond the unknown
A foreign land of white and warm
Different than what I recall from norm
A calm soft place of safe and dark
But eerie in its plain and stark

Revealed and chased within an inch of life
What did I do to deserve this strife?

Keep quiet and don’t even let go of a breath
Terrified as he vows my untimely death
Praying for mercy from my determined hunter
Anticipate his next move and wait for a blunder

Desperate pleas and negotiation
Triggered by what motivation?
I’m not giving in to certain annihilation

Sensing my freedom I make a break for the gate
Spotted now I run to avoid my doomed fate
Missing my chance; a second too late

Trapped, captured and whisked away
Surely my time to die I say
I close my eyes and hope its quick
Can’t believe I fell for the his trick

Falling forever, death is sublime
Just like they say an absence of time
As I open my eyes to my new life eternal
I hope I see heaven and not the infernal

This has to be the place; looks like I’m in luck
No devil or fire or purgatory stuck
Shouldn’t there be some sort of greeter?
Grandpop, Mom or even Saint Peter?

No time to worry about what I can’t comprehend
God might change his mind if I somehow offend

Who cares if this is death or just lucid dreaming?
Perhaps I was just granted another chance at living

If you like my poetry, go check out my poetry side Poetic Ascension

One response

  1. Pingback: Animal Omens | Salt for my Soul

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers